Chapter News

Lawrence Mauerman Scholarship Winner Announced

Brennan Booth

Congratulations are in Order

Brennan Booth was selected to receive the Lawrence Mauerman Academic Scholarship ($1,000) from the American Society of Safety Professionals Foundation.  Brennan is a OSHE Major at Southeastern Louisiana University.

Each year, the American Society of Safety Professionals Foundation Professional Academic Scholarship Program receives hundreds of applications, and this year was still no exception. Brennan was selected for an award for demonstrating leadership, professional excellence, and integrity.

We are excited and inspired by your pursuit of education in occupational safety and health and for helping to shape the future of the profession.


Emma Swarner presented Business and Industry Partner Award for Community Outreach Efforts

Community Outreach Committee Chair,  Emma Swarner, GSP, SafetyPro Resources, was recently presented the Business and Industry Partner Award from Central High School for her community outreach efforts. Emma led a group of volunteers who met with over 200 Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors who are part of Central’s Jump Start program. Jump Start allows students to earn NCCER Certification in Carpentry, Electrical or Welding with their High School Diploma. Stations were set up for Fire & Emergency Response, Power Tools, PPE, LOTO and Fall Protection. Students received safety advice and tips from AJ Downing (Westlake Chemical Corporation), Glen Taylor II (Shell Motiva Convent), Devin Holck (SafetyPro Resources), Thaddeus McLaurin (Westlake Chemical Corporation), Scott Reily (EPIC Piping), and Scott Merrill (Turner Industries).