Chapter News

SPAN-Hosted ASP Workshop

Sep 28, 2020

SPAN is hosting an in-person ASP workshop in Baton Rouge December 1-3, 2020.  Contact Kim Jennings with SPAN directly to register.  Cost for the three-day course is $950.  The chapter is only promoting this workshop – no endorsement or discount given.  See attached information from SPAN.

National Safety Stand-Down (Sept 14-18)

Sep 14, 2020

It’s National Safety Stand-Down Week to prevent falls.

What activities do you have planned at your site to raise awareness? Hosting a PPE fair? Group stand-downs? Scheduling a fall protection demonstration/drop test? Surveying employees on anchor point issues?

Engage employees on the topic of fall protection. Raise awareness. Your campaign could save a life!

2020/2021 Chapter Meeting Schedule

Sep 03, 2020

Safe + Sound Week 2020

Jul 24, 2020

Recognize Safe + Sound Week, August 10-16, 2020

Safe + Sound Week is a nationwide event held each August that recognizes the successes of workplace health and safety programs and offers information and ideas on how to keep America’s workers safe.

Why Participate? Successful safety and health programs can proactively identify and manage workplace hazards before they cause injury or illness, improving sustainability and the bottom line. Participating in Safe + Sound Week can help get your program started, energize an existing one, or provide a chance to recognize your safety successes.

Who Participates? All organizations looking for an opportunity to recognize their commitment to safety are welcome to participate. Last year, more than 3,300 businesses helped to raise awareness about workers’ health and safety!

Visit the Safe + Sound OSHA Website for more information and to see other registered participants in our area.

Don Jones Excellence in Safety Scholarship Winner Announced

May 22, 2020

Catherine Cangelosi

Congratulations are in Order

Catherine Cangelosi was selected to receive the ASSP Greater Baton Rouge Don Jones Excellence in Safety Scholarship ($1,000) from the American Society of Safety Professionals Foundation.  Catherine is a OSHE Major at Southeastern Louisiana University.

We are excited and inspired by your pursuit of education in occupational safety and health and for helping to shape the future of the profession.